08 December 2008

Tomblin, Thompson Headed to New Terms as Senate President, House Speaker

The majority Democrats in the House and Senate caucused (separately) Sunday before their interim session began to re-nominate Speaker Rick Thompson, D-Wayne, and President Earl Ray Tomblin, D-Logan, The Associated Press reports.

"Tomblin became the longest-serving president in 2003, and 2009 would mark his eighth term with that titler," AP notes, while "Thompson would begin his second term as speaker. Each leadership post carries a two-year term."

The article continues that "GOP lawmakers also re-nominated their leaders: Senate Minority Leader Don Caruth of Mercer County and House Minority Leader Tim Armstead of Kanawha County."

Newly elected lawmakers took part in the caucusing. The full House and Senate will each vote on their leadership choices in January. "The Democratic caucuses also each renominated the House and Senate's non-lawmaker officers," AP reports. "They are Clerk Gregory M. Gray, Doorkeeper John A. Roberts and Sergeant at Arms Oce Smith in the House, and Clerk Darrell E. Holmes, Doorkeeper William Bevino and Sergeant at Arms Howard Wellman in the Senate."

The Register-Herald of Beckley reports on the caucusing as well, with comments from legislators on the renominations.

No comments: